Queens' College | Institute of Continuing Education skip to content

Institute of Continuing Education

 

Overlooking the River Cam, Queens’ boasts the famous Mathematical Bridge and some of the most iconic views in Cambridge. The College offers a magnificent dining hall, historic courtyards, quiet gardens and modern rooms: the best of both worlds.

We are delighted to be using accommodation in this College for the first time. Queens' is conveniently placed between the heart of town and the teaching rooms. The College was founded in 1448 by Margaret of Anjou (wife of Henry VI) and re-founded in 1465 by Elizabeth Woodville, wife of Edward IV. The Old Hall, Old Kitchens, Munro and Erasmus Rooms date from this time. The sundial in Old Court dates from 1642, and the precursor to today’s Mathematical Bridge was constructed in 1749-50. Cripps Court (where the single en suites are situated) was built in 1974 and recently refurbished. The twin en suite rooms are in the Fisher building.

All meals are served buffet-style, except for the more traditionally-served Closing Dinner.

Please note: there is no lift access in the Fisher building (twin bedrooms), rooms are accessible by lift in the Cripps Building (single bedrooms), there are no ground-floor en suite rooms.

Facilities include: single rooms; some twin en suite rooms; wifi access in rooms; bed linen and towels; laundry room; Chapel

The University's International Summer Programmes are an embodiment of our mission 'to contribute to society through the pursuit of education, learning and research at the highest international levels of excellence'.

Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz, Former Vice-Chancellor, University of Cambridge